Skip to content

Monday house update: they tried to make me go to rehab

August 24, 2009

Tim and I have recently purchased our first home.  In fact, we closed on it just last Wednesday.

The adventure itself–what with the appraisals and the inspection and the financing and the pleading and cajoling to get the mid-divorce sellers to pay for a repair or two before closing–was harrowing enough.  And I’m glad that it’s over.

But another adventure has just begun.  Because the house is so filthy (which we already knew) and so in need of some minor (and some major) repairs that we have quickly found ourselves smack dab in the middle of a house rehab. 

And this adventure, much unlike the actual purchase of the home, has been exciting.  Exhilarating even.  And tremendously satisfying.  (At least the first weekend of it.  Ha.)

My plan is to provide weekly updates of this exciting and satisfying adventure here so as to take my friends and family and other readers on this journey with us. 

Obviously, I could create an entirely separate blog for this endeavor, but that just seems like far too much for me to juggle at the moment.  I am, after all, writing my disseration and raising two kids and certifying to become a doula and a lactation educator and writing a blog and rehabilitating a home.  I can hardly keep track of two separate email accounts let alone two blogs.

So I suppose that Birthing Beautiful Ideas will soon become a blog devoted to parents who are interested in childbirth and VBAC, are married to marathon trainers, and who are crazy enough to take on the task of rehabilitating a home.

A truly vast audience if there ever was one.

In any case, even if this adventure doesn’t necessarily involve giving birth to a beautiful idea, we–Tim, myself, and my family, who are are already essential and amazing parts of this rehab team–are giving birth to a truly beautiful home.

I hope.

But for now, it’s in rehab.  Like, “heroin addict who’s shivering, vomiting, and shaking in bed” rehab.

Just see for yourself.

 100_9694

It’s really a magnificent space.  But look at that carpet.  The filth.  The grime.  And this picture doesn’t even do it justice.  I wouldn’t be surprised if this carpet hadn’t seen a vacuum cleaner in years.  Or if the owners liked to run through a pile of dog poo and then smear it onto their floors.  Or if they didn’t give a crap (pun intended) about letting their dogs pee and poo on the floors.

100_9755

See that black liquid?  That’s a bleach and water solution.  And it turned that color after I washed just two vents in it.

100_9760

Sweet, spectacular cleanliness.  This vent, and this wall, and these baseboards were black–black I tell you–before my mom and I got our hands on them.

100_9759

How many times one ever heard someone say, “Hey, that house looks so much better with no carpet and just the padding on the floors!”?  (Many thanks to my father, who heroically removed two floors worth of carpet this past weekend.  And who, I should  mention, found a dried puddle of blood under the carpet in one of the upstairs bedrooms.)

One final thought after this first week of rehab-ing?

Bleach.  

Bleach.  

Bleach is my friend.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. renbeth permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:12 pm

    You are brave. Congrats on closing. Home rehab is, I am sure, exhausting. But at least you get to pick paint colors and carpet now :). And we are looking forward to seeing the ongoing “birth” of your new house.

  2. Kellie permalink
    August 25, 2009 12:09 pm

    I was able to run through the first floor of the house while holding my breath (because while bleach is certainly your friend in this situation, it’s not a queasy pregnant lady’s friend) and I am SO excited for you and Tim! The space is great and once you get your ideas into it, it’s going to be a beautiful home. Can’t wait to see the progress!

  3. Jenny permalink
    August 25, 2009 4:17 pm

    Sounds like you guys are having fun! Good luck with everything!

Trackbacks

  1. Monday house update: My vision begins « Birthing Beautiful Ideas

Leave a Reply

