Skip to content

Silliness is hereditary

July 5, 2009

My kids make me laugh, they fill me with pride, and sometimes they do both.  It’s easy to see why:

  • While grocery-shopping with the kids a few weeks ago, I discovered that M (our 3 1/2-year-old) could read.  As a matter of fact, he proved not only that he could read but also that he did, most certainly, descend from my DNA when he sounded out his very first word: “Wha…wha…wha…wiiiii…wiiiiiine.  Wine!”  Could I be any prouder?  No.  No, I could not.
  • (I hope that the fact I’m committing the following exchange to the perpetuity of cyberspace doesn’t come back to haunt poor M in his teenage years.)  This morning, M asked Tim if he smelled the poop that had recently begun stinking up his (i.e. M’s) diaper.  After Tim replied that yes, he did smell the poop, M asked, “Yes Daddy, but do you smell it in your bones?”  Does this kid know how much of a comedic genius he is?!
  • A (13 months) took his first steps on Friday!  It was more like his first abominable-snowman-shimmy, what with his pale arms waving in the air and his triple-cankles shifting from side to side.  And he received a rousing standing ovation for his achievement.
  • One of the only ways we can get A to continue taking steps is to dangle this horse-chair-pillow-type-thing a few feet away from him.  He walks to the horse-pillow, flings his body on top of it, and proceeds to hump it the way that Tim’s cat used to hump his parents’ orange afghan.  It’s inappropriately hilarious.
One Comment leave one →
  1. renbeth permalink
    July 6, 2009 7:01 am

    Such big milestones for M & A! How exciting! I am so sad I won’t be able to sit with M and have him read liquor bottle labels to me ;), or watch A do his shimmy thang across a room.

Leave a Reply

