Skip to content

It was the house with the stripper pole!

June 29, 2009

Tim and I discovered tonight that we are this close to getting the stripper-pole house!

Long, boring, and complicated story short, we are 99% sure that the sellers are going to sign on to our contract tomorrow.  Things could always fall through, however, so we’re holding off on our preliminary celebration until after the signatures are on the contract.

But when we do get those signatures, we’ll probably make and enjoy the following drink:

Minty raspberry sparklers (from Cooking Light’s 2008 Annual Recipes cookbook)

Combine 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup water in a small, heavy saucepan, and bring to a boil, stirring until sugar dissolves.  Add 2 mint sprigs to pan; let stand 5 minutes.  Remove mint, and discard.  Combine sugar mixture, 3 cups fresh raspberries, and 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice in a blender, and process until smooth.  Strain mixture through a sieve into a bowl, and discard solids.  Spoon 3 tablespoons raspberry mixture into each of  6 wineglasses; top each with 1/2 cup chilled Champagne.

This drink is so light and fresh and colorful and yummy.  And while I have yet to capture a photo of one of these delectable sparklers (they seem to disappear pretty quickly), I can say that I generally feel like this:

smiley face

after drinking one.

Now for the important question: what sort of drink does becoming the proud owners of a stripper pole call for?  Minty-raspberry sparklers seem a bit too frou-frou for the occasion…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. renbeth permalink
    June 30, 2009 8:12 am

    Yes! I knew it!

    I want to hear the long, boring story. I am insanely busy with drs appts, meetings with profs, etc today, but maybe we could chat tomorrow afternoon?

    I think that your stripper pole drink choice depends on how you see the stripper pole. I mean, in a strip joint it would have one set of connotations that might call for something hard and cheap, like gin. But the stripper pole in the house seems to be more representative of a certain middle-class fetishization of the tawdry cloaked in the guise of an exercise program (as seen on Oprah!) So for that, I think a minty-raspberry sparkler sort of works. 😉

  2. Jenny permalink
    June 30, 2009 9:41 am

    I say keep the pole and invest in flirty girl fitness (have you seen the infomercials on that?) My husband and I die laughing everytime we see it. Maybe that is what Renbeth is talking about. So anyways congratulations I hope you get the house (and the pole)….did you by chance get my fb email about lunch? If not I’d love to get together sometime.

  3. BirthingBeautifulIdeas permalink*
    June 30, 2009 7:09 pm

    I should add that we did not include the stripper pole in our contract, so the sellers may opt to take it with them when they move. But at least I know there is a perfect spot to install one if I ever want one of my own. 😉

    Now, if they do leave it, does anyone know of a good industrial-strength cleaner that I can use on it?!

    • Jenny permalink
      July 1, 2009 9:20 am

      I’d got with straight bleach! Can’t got wrong with that I’m pretty sure! LOL!

Leave a Reply

