Skip to content

The obligatory Michael Jackson post

June 25, 2009

Despite my many misgivings over his personal life and choices, I was so, so saddened today when I heard of Michael Jackson’s death.  It feels as if a part of my childhood just passed away.

As melodramatic as that may sound, Michael Jackson as an icon was truly an omnipresent and integral part of ’80s pop culture.  And for those of us who grew up in the ’80s, Thriller–the album and the video–The Wiz, and the moonwalk probably all loom large in our childhood memories.  (Who doesn’t remember trying (awkwardly) to do the moonwalk on the school playground?)

So if I can, I’d like to encapsulate that ’80s-and-before Michael Jackson–the Michael whose pictures and stickers I had posted on my wall as a kid–and pay tribute to his extraordinary work and talent.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 27, 2009 11:07 pm

    The 80’s Michael Jackson was pretty cool. I’ll never forget my Michael Jackson record player- I thought it was pretty cool! He had some great songs.

Leave a Reply

