Skip to content

Random rock n roll thoughts on the road

June 19, 2009

Since Tim and I are searching for a house 1.5 hours away from where we currently reside (i.e. my parents’ house), I have needed to make a few treks to our intended city-of-residence in the past couple of weeks.  Despite the fact that the drive is a bit of a hassle, I’ve used my car-time turn up my iPod full-blast and crank out some serious rock n roll (and other assorted genres).  This is because I have made these journeys kid free.

This is not to say that the kids have “bad taste” in music.  In fact, M, the only kid old enough to even have a specific taste in music, gets his rawk on to an endless stream of Kanye West’s “Love Lockdown,” Three Dog Night’s “Mama Told me Not to Come,” and Michael Jackson’s “Man in the Mirror” each time we are in the car.  Admittedly, he does have some killer taste in music for a three-year-old, but I am sick of hearing the same songs over and over and over again.  (Even Kanye becomes as annoying as the Backyardigans Soundtrack when you hear it seventeen times in one trip.)

So mama gets to listen to her tunes at her preferred volume level and in her preferred order whenever she goes house-hunting.  (Word of caution to those childless souls out there: enjoy your car-radio-autonomy while it lasts!)

And since I don’t have to worry about passing snacks to the back of the vehicle or tuning out whining and crying or explaining for the fiftieth time that seatbelts are, in fact, necessary in the car, I get the chance not only to rock out to my music but also to allow my mind to cull up some seriously random thoughts on the tunes of the moment.

Here are those most current random thoughts, in no particular order:

  • Even though Thom Yorke has claimed that the subject of Radiohead’s 2003 release, Hail to the Thief, reaches beyond the scope of the Bush Administration (and even the 21st century, for that matter), I still think that the album is one of the best to capture the political and moral cesspool that was the US government from Jan. 2001-Jan. 2009.  (And yes, I do realize that the US has dabbled in moral cesspool-ery for many, many years.)  But listening to “2+2=5” and “I Will” made me recall not only my anger over a million-and-one actions taken by our government in those years but also the sinister creepiness of the Bush years.
  • Despite the song’s utter cheeseball-ness, when Roy Orbison hits those high notes on “You Got It,” I get a little choked up.
  • Speaking of cheesiness, I don’t think I’ll ever tire of that George Michael and Elton John duet of “Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me.”  Ladies and gentleman: Mistah Elton John!


  • I think that the second stage of labor moves to the rhythm of Kanye’s “School Spirit.”  (When I said “random thoughts,” I wasn’t kidding.)
  • Arcade Fire is buh-rill-yant.  That first track on Funeral (yes, I still think of albums as cohesive albums–and yes, I call them ‘albums’) is haunting and beautiful and thrilling and still makes me as excited as I was the first time I heard it.
  • You know, I don’t think I should have let M listen to that  TV on the Radio song, “Lover’s Day.”  Those lyrics are not G-rated!
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

