Skip to content

Some great VBAC stories

May 27, 2009

When I was planning my VBAC, in addition to researching and practicing hypnobirthing and researching and hiring a doula and researching and eating right and researching and exercising and researching, I was also getting my hands on every single VBAC story that I could find.  Hospital VBACs, homebirths after cesarean (or HBACs), VBACs after multiple cesareans (VBA2Cs, VBA3Cs, etc.), medicated VBACs, unmedicated VBACs, induced VBACs–even planned VBACs that ended up in repeat cesareans.

I learned something from each and every story that I read, and, perhaps just as importantly, I came away inspired by many of these stories.  In fact, I truly believe that this inspiration played an integral role in my VBAC success: there’s nothing like reading about another woman’s awesome triumph to make one think, “Hell yeah, I can do that too!”

In continued celebration of VBACs (and, admittedly, of my own VBAC last year), I thought that I would link to a few amazing, triumphant, uplifting VBAC stories.  If you are planning for a VBAC, are a birth story junkie, or just want to bring some inspiration to your day, I highly recommend that you read these stories.

“I Needed to Know My Body Could Do It!” – A VBAC Story from Nursing Birth – Check out this wonderful VBAC story, told from a nurse’s perspective.  My favorite part is when the mom literally gets up and roars out her baby.

A Baby Came out of My Vagina from Mama Hearts Baby – I just discovered this story today.  It’s not only inspiring but also hilarious.  And the last line sums up what every woman should have the privilege of feeling after giving birth: “I am amazed by my body.”

Protecting my Vagina from Keyboard Revolutionary – This isn’t a traditional VBAC story but instead presents some very provocative birth art.  Both images offer powerful insights into what birth should and shouldn’t be like.

Jules Michael Birth Story from The Feminist Breeder – While no one should have to fight so damn hard to get the birth that she (reasonably—very reasonably!) wants, this story demonstrates a mother’s hard-fought and successful battle for a VBAC.  (I love this blog, by the way.)

Birth Stories on Unnecesarean.com – There’s something about a VBAC with a “big” or “large for gestational age” or even “macrosomic” baby (i.e. one weighing over 4000g/8 lbs. 13 oz. or 4500 g/9 lbs. 15 oz. at birth) that makes me want to jump and scream and holler in celebration.  The birth stories listed on unnecesarean.com include quite a few inspiring stories proving not only that women can birth “big babies” but that they can have big VBAC babies.  (Consider this an extra-special toast to my friend, L, who just had an 11 lb. 12 oz. VBA2C baby a couple of weeks ago.)

My HBAC Birth Story from VBACfacts.com – Inspiring, empowering, informative–and simply amazing.  (VBACfacts.com is an absolute wealth of information on VBAC to boot!)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2009 7:22 pm

    BBI, thanks for the link!! Hope you are loving your new surroundings!! You are missed! New look for the site huh?! Love it 🙂 Keep up the good work chica…I’m keeping my eye on you 🙂 Give A & M a big smooch for me (I did tell M at the wedding that I was the smooch monster after all, haha)

  2. renbeth permalink
    May 28, 2009 9:59 am

    Great stories. Reading the Jules Michael one had me so, so angry, though. When I read stories like that I wind up torn between being inspired by the strength of the mom and totally in despair over the state of the medical profession.

  3. Jenny permalink
    May 28, 2009 12:16 pm

    I haven’t had a chance to read these yet but must admit that since reading your VBAC waterbirth story I have become a birth junkie – especially birth story junkie. I never ever in a million years thought that birth could be empowering until I read your story (i’ve probably told you this)….I just finished reading Ricki Lake and Abby Epstein’s “Your Best Birth” and I just watched the Business of Being Born! Completely crazy!! Hope you guys are doing well and enjoying Dayton!

  4. BirthingBeautifulIdeas permalink*
    May 28, 2009 3:49 pm

    Hey NB! I am certainly missing “my old home,” but it sure is nice to be around family. I’ll be sure to stay in touch with the ICAN ladies. Oh, and I’ll also be keeping a watchful (and daily) eye on your blog! You should be SO proud of yourself!!!

  5. BirthingBeautifulIdeas permalink*
    May 28, 2009 3:51 pm

    Renbeth–yes, the story from the Feminist Breeder made me angry too. I know that you also had to put up a fight during Isaac’s birth, and it irks me SO MUCH that women have to fight against interventions that aren’t even remotely medically necessary! Even my parents (who still have some of the old medical model in their minds) are absolutely appalled at what is going on in modern maternity care. And the fight for VBACs…don’t even get me started (as you well know :-)).

  6. BirthingBeautifulIdeas permalink*
    May 28, 2009 3:54 pm

    Jenny, I’m so, *so* excited to hear you say that! I’d love to hear your thoughts on *Your Best Birth* and *The Business of Being Born* sometime.

Leave a Reply

