Skip to content

The Birth Survey results are up!

May 5, 2009

The Coalition for Improving Maternity Services (CIMS) has been (and is still) compiling information from about maternity care providers and facilities from women all over the country in a project known as The Birth Survey.  I am very pleased to say that they have just posted the results!  So far, these results provide the average ratings (based on mothers’ input) of obstetricians, certified nurse midwives, certified professional midwives, hospitals, birth centers, and home birth offerings throughout the country.

Of course, in skimming a few of the areas with which I am familiar, I can see that they still need lots of other women (who have given birth in the past three years) to complete the survey.  Whether one has had an amazing or an awful experience with her care provider or birth site, the information that can be gleaned from the survey is crucial to helping other moms choose their own care providers and birth sites.  I know that I will be looking to the results when I go to choose my new care provider here in my new home!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenny permalink
    May 6, 2009 2:47 pm

    I wish that site has more comments on it – and more information. I was checking it out after your article – I was curious about how certain doctors I had been told about ranked but there wasn’t much there. I was just telling a friend that is pregnant that I would try to find out more about the OBGYN she was choosing by asking someone that works in L&D at a local hospital but I was thinking it was ashame there wasn’t a better resource than that out there! Hope your move went great!

  2. BirthingBeautifulIdeas permalink*
    May 7, 2009 2:33 pm

    I agree, Jenny! That being said, I think that asking a L&D nurse is a *great* way to start one’s search for an OB or midwife. They’ll usually be very up front and honest about which ones are fantastic and which ones do all sorts of shady things. 🙂

Leave a Reply

